Although having insurance coverage is a state law, that doesn’t mean that everyone who gets behind the wheel of a car obeys it.
When you drive in the state of Missouri, you are legally obligated to have the mandatory minimum insurance requirements. According to Missouri state law, you must have vehicle liability insurance with a minimum of $25,000 per person who is injured in an accident, and $50,000 for all bodily injuries for any single accident. Although that’s the minimum, a driver can always take out higher amounts and different kinds of coverage to make sure that they aren’t left financially vulnerable after an accident.
Although having insurance coverage is a state law, that doesn’t mean that everyone who gets behind the wheel of a car obeys it. There are some who choose to drive without the mandatory minimum insurance coverage – or without any coverage at all. When you are in an accident with someone who is at fault and carries no insurance, that could spell big trouble for you if your insurance company refuses to cover your property damage.
If you are in an accident with someone who isn’t carrying insurance, then your insurance company will cover your bodily injuries, but in most instances, they will not cover your property damage. This means if your car is severely damaged – or worse, totaled – you could be left with a huge bill and no financial recourse. You may be able to sue the other driver, but the the fact that they weren’t carrying insurance could indicate that they couldn’t afford it. So even if you are awarded money in court, that does not mean that you will be able to collect.
What Is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?
Uninsured motorist coverage is additional coverage that you can add to your auto insurance policy, so that you are financially covered if you are in a car accident with someone who is at fault and was breaking the law by not carrying insurance. The additional money to cover yourself from someone who isn’t carrying insurance is often minimal compared to the amount that you could be on the hook for if you are hit by an uninsured motorist.
Another way that you can try to get your property damaged covered is to take out collision insurance. Collision insurance means that if you are at fault in a car accident, then your insurance company will cover the damage to your car. If you don’t have collision insurance and you are at fault, then the repairs to your car are generally your problem. This means collision insurance is a good thing to have as well.
Get Legal Help 24/7
Just because you follow the rules, doesn’t mean that all the other drivers on the road do. If you are hit by someone who isn’t carrying insurance, then uninsured motorist coverage is the best way to save yourself from being financially out of luck. If you have been involved in an auto accident, it is a good idea to speak with a St. Louis car accident attorney to help you recover the cost of your injuries and damages.