In Missouri, drivers are required to have insurance on their vehicles.
Getting compensation following an accident with an uninsured driver can be tricky. In Missouri, drivers are required to have insurance on their vehicles. This is part of the responsibility that comes with driving. Missouri law is even more specific regarding motor vehicle insurance. If you are unable to offer proof of current auto insurance if a police officer requests to see it, you can be ticketed. You must present this proof whenever you renew your license or whenever you register a vehicle.
The state requires that anyone who owns a vehicle must have liability insurance, which will cover your liability in the event of an accident. The state stipulates that drivers have a minimum of $10,000 per accident for injury, $25,000 per person for bodily injury, and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, as well as uninsured motorist coverage in the amount of $25,000 and $50,000 for a bodily injury accident.
In Missouri it is not legal to drive without insurance, so you must be sure to have proof in your vehicle always that shows that it is insured. Proof comes in the form of a liability coverage card. You can have proof that you filed a proof of financial responsibility with the Department of Revenue, a certificate of self-insurance, or a card showing you have any insurance policy that conforms to state requirement of 25/50/10 coverage.
Any basic insurance policy will include uninsured motorist coverage. This means that if you are injured in a traffic accident with a driver who is uninsured you can file an uninsured motorist claim with your insurance company. If your coverage goes above and beyond what is required, you are in even better shape. You can make a claim under this section of the policy for accidents where the other driver fled the scene as well.
Some drivers may have insurance, but not enough to cover every expense if they are found liable for causing an accident. Not everybody has under-insured motorist coverage, so you should double-check your policy.
Understanding what to do after an auto accident can be very difficult. Contact a Missouri auto accident attorney as soon as possible following an accident. An experienced attorney can help to make sure that everything is taken care of and will work to protect your rights and get you the compensation you need in order to cover your financial losses stemming from the accident.
Contact The Hoffmann Law Firm, L.L.C.
If you or a loved one has been involved in a car accident, contact The Hoffmann Law Firm, L.L.C. at (314) 361-4242 to schedule a free and private consultation. We provide efficient and practical legal help for car accident victims throughout Missouri. Attorney Christopher Hoffmann has more than 20 years of legal experience and has handled hundreds of motor vehicle accident cases.
photo credit: David Hilowitz